Project Update 9: To the skies!

I started composing the thumbnails for the Floating Islands together like I did with the second level. It ended up with multiple populated islands with different types of buildings on each. I also quite like the idea of the people being able to travel from island to island using things similar to ski lifts.

L3- Concept2wip

L3- Concept2wip2
Quick colour overlap concept to get the ethereal in-the-clouds feel that I wanted for the third level

Here I wanted to try something a little different to the previous two levels. Instead of having the islands at the same distance away from the player on the same plane, I separated them out and shaped them with simple geometry. The idea is that the islands will have fake depth and small protrusions in the plane geometry will make the islands appear more 3-Dimensional. Having them separate will also allow me to move them individually if I want to resize or make them move.

l3-wip1
Blockout in 3dsMax- the concept art is used as a base to create the island planes.

With just over a month left of the project, my main focus is to get the artwork for L3 finished and implemented in the next two weeks before starting the polishing process: adding particle effects and small animations during the Easter break. As a stretch goal, I want to add a simple rollover text mechanic and navigation menu in Unreal to boost the narrative.

Author: atlassaga

Artist!

Leave a comment